Catching Up

I have been very remiss in posting anything on my blog these last few months. The last posting was in November. My apologies to all.

December was filled with Christmas shopping and celebrating our Lord’s birth on Christmas Eve with the family, our traditional time. We enjoyed a meal together, read the Christmas story from Matthew and Luke, and exchanged gifts. Of course, there was lots of conservation and laughter during all that activity.

My daughter bought me a new coffee pot (the old one was slowly dying and I was glad it made it until Christmas). My son, daughter-in-law, and grandkids gave me pull-on winter cleats to put on my boots for winter walking, so I could walk safely on snow and ice.  Unfortunately, I have not been able to use them yet due to a shoulder sprain and lack of icy winter weather since that time.

Everyone chuckles when I tell them I sprained my shoulder working out at the fitness center; (added too much weight too soon . . .oops!). I have been going to physical therapy twice weekly for approximately 6 weeks and it has gotten much better. Hopefully this week will be my last week of therapy. Shoulder is at about 85% right now so it will be a little while longer before its completely back to normal. I am looking forward to carefully using the arm machines again.

A new year has dawned on us. We now face the challenges of another year of new goals (whatever they might be) and the opportunity to show more kindness and love to others. And of course, our country has a new president, which is good news for many and not so good for others who supported the opposing candidate.

No matter who we voted for our obligation as followers of Christ is to support our president and members of Congress, praying for them to have the knowledge, understanding, and wisdom to make the right decisions for our country. Romans 13:1 says, “Let everyone be subject to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.” We can trust that God knows what He is doing even if we humans do not.

My son and I are in the midst of painting my home and making a few changes that need done. We have finished the living and dining rooms. The walls have a fresh color and we installed new blinds on both living and dining room windows. Wow, looks so different! One thing I regret is not taking “before” pictures. Although my son does not enjoy painting he does a great job. He is especially good at painting the detail areas around the ceiling and floorboards. I help by filling in the areas in between. I’m also good at handing him the drill, nails, screws, and other items as we make changes. We make a pretty good team.

I look forward to this continued new year in my own life to enjoy more blessings from God as well as the challenges that will surely come. Always taking one day at a time, enjoying it as fully as I can. Tomorrow is not promised to any of us so we must cherish each moment we have, each breath we take, each minute with family and friends.

ruth-watson

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment